A Letter to Administrators

Dear Administrators,

I know that you have awesome responsibilities and are very busy having to work with your staff, your superiors, the school board, parents and the local community but please do not lose sight of the classroom teacher, the pupils in your school and their parents.

Your School

Work with your staff, students and parents to build a learning environment in your school. My favorite expression to administrators is “Take the Chalk.” Of course it would now be “Take the IWB or tech tools” and get in the classroom.  Teach some lessons and talk with the students.  My all time favorite administrator was one superintendent who took the chalk when I presented it to him and he had the time of his life working with my class.  He thanked me for the opportunity he had not had in years

Expectations

Please let your staff and students know exactly what you want from them.  Don’t keep them guessing.  Establish rules with them to ensure your building has an atmosphere where learning will take place..

New Teachers

I have seen too many new teachers who had a lot of promise leave teaching because of what they experienced.  Provide them with support and make sure their needs are met.  Periodically talk to them informally and find out what help they need.

Observations

I will never forget the post observation conference from one principal who criticized my use of the chalkboard.  He went on for 15 minutes about how I should use the chalkboards in a classroom.  When he finally finished I asked him what room he observed me in.  It took him a while to finally realize that it was the art room and I had to remind him that it only had one portable chalkboard.  The art teacher had her work on one side and did not want it erased.

I did not mind observations but what I really needed was constructive criticism on how to improve my teaching techniques and how I got the material across.

Listen to your staff and students

Too many times I was told we don’t do that in this school, we do it this way by my administrators.  Be open to new ideas and methods.  Keep your door open to sit down with your staff.  Be cognizant of their lives (deaths and illnesses in the family, children’s achievements).  Show that you are a caring administrator by acknowledging students by name and know what they are going through.

Letters and Appreciation

Teachers need a pat on the back once in a while.  I had principals who only had a negative approach. Of course there are extremes too.  I have a bulging binder of letters from my administrators.  Some wrote a letter for everything I did and it got to be too much.  Other administrators rarely wrote an appreciation note for my going above and beyond the call of duty.  Let your teachers know when they are doing well and in a nice way show teachers how they can improve.  Be there to support them, not tear them down.  It is not an easy job being a classroom teacher.

Professional Development

Provide meaningful training for teachers that they can actually use in their classrooms.  The edcamp model shows that giving teachers a choice of what they want to learn is very beneficial.  I sat through and wasted my time in most faculty conferences and training sessions that I had to attend. Ask your teachers for their input on what training sessions were beneficial and which can be improved.  Heed their advice to make the experience worthwhile for them! Encourage your teachers to observe their colleagues and if possible allow them to attend educational conferences.

Parents

Communication is essential with the parents in your school.  You need to build a dialogue with them and need their cooperation to ensure the best learning for the students.  Keep them informed of school events, schedules and provide them with useful information on how to work with their children.

I hope that you have a wonderful school year.  Please enable your staff to facilitate the best learning and growth of all of the children under you care.

My Administrators page

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Letter to Administrators

  1. I appreciated your post and certainly hope other school administrators take the time to read your perspective, knowing you are likely speaking for many other teachers!

    Sergiovanni speaks of two distinct types of administrators–1.) those that do not trust teachers can work independently and without direct supervision and 2.) those that provide autonomy, capacity-build, and empower teachers to work with as building leaders right alongside administrators.

    Our schools need transformational leaders that understand their true role as principals and administrators–“Leaders of Learning.” With this role, comes close participation, cooperation, and collaboration with school teachers.

    As school administrators place more emphasis on the importance of “learning” versus the specific tasks of “teaching,” our schools should all increase student achievement and teacher effectiveness.

    • Yes, I hope administrators read what I wrote because it contains important things that administrators should be cognizant of. Yes, administrators should be the “Leaders of Learning” that set the tone in their schools. Hopefully, they will foster an environment for learning and exploration. Thanks for your wonderful comments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *