Why I am a champion for #geniushour #20Time #geniustime

#geniushour #20Time #geniustime

Throughout most of my educational journey my creativity was stifled.  I will never forget when I drew a picture on a homework paper to illustrate an answer and was reprimanded for that. 

When I first starting teaching my administrator forced me to use a textbook that my students could not comprehend.  He got upset when I had my class write their own book with illustrations.  Luckily the principal thought that was a great idea.  When I realized my students did not know anything about the world I wrote a complete socio-economic-historical curriculum of the neighborhood where I taught.  It got nice feedback from my principal and the local politicians.  However, when I was transferred to another school (I was lowest in seniority in my subject area) the assistant principal said, We don’t do that in this school.  Years later the entire school district used my community curriculum. 

Very early in my teaching career I realized it would be a wise idea to put the curriculum to music.  My students knew all the song lyrics to their favorite songs.  Unfortunately I did not have any musical talent.  I really blew it by not having some of my students (The Fat Boys) put the curriculum to rap songs. 

When Billy Joel’s song, “We Didn’t Start the Fire” first was released my students and I came up with a fantastic lesson to go along with it.  NBC News got wind of it and wanted to come into my school to film me do the lesson with my students.  My principal refused to let them come.  Maybe it was because our school led the city in assaults on teachers.

I did have one superintendent for a short while who encouraged my creativity.  He let a couple of us write complete curriculums, with lesson plans and student workbooks for the 4th, 5th, 7th and 8th grades.  When the next superintendent came in he refused to let us finish the 6th grade curriculum. 

As a result of my experiences I was determined to make sure I did not stifle my students’ creativity abilities.  During the first week of school I had my students fill out a survey of their interests and abilities.  Throughout the school year I referred to this when we did our work.  If a student liked to draw, write poetry, or was musically talented they could put that to use in their assignments.  I wish I taught now with all the wonderful tech tools there are .

Please give your students some time to pursue their passions  #GeniusHour #20Time #geniustime as it should be incorporated into your busy schedule. 

2 thoughts on “Why I am a champion for #geniushour #20Time #geniustime

  1. Yeah, Jerry! I’m so happy you are a champion for this kind of learning. Just an hour or 20% a week can be instrumental in changing the whole feel of school for students and teachers alike.

    I think it will be great when whole schools are letting students have a whole day where they can tinker, create, produce, master, learn. They will be the better for it!

    Thanks for all you do,
    Denise

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *