THIS CHATAHOLIC CHANGES DIRECTION

directionsDuring my educational career there were times that I stopped and changed direction.

Six years into my teaching career I made a big decision.  At this juncture I was getting a reputation as an outstanding track and field person.  I had helped win two New York City Track Championships back to back with different schools in my school district as well as running our school district’s very successful track program.  At this time I was also beginning to write curriculum for my classes, school and an organization that bridged the schools in New York City with the business community.  I wanted to be known for my curriculum work and not my track & field success.  I decided to stop my coaching/coordination and concentrate on writing. It was a very hard decision but one that fortunately worked out very well for me.

Rather than bore you here with excerpts from letters I received to show what I accomplished they can be found at http://cybraryman.com/cybrary_man_career.html

Last evening, when I could not sleep, I started thinking about my involvement in Twitter chats. I have enjoyed participating in so many of the wonderful chats.  I am also very pleased how these chats have progressed and grown.  I love seeing the wonderful connecting and sharing that is going on among outstanding global educators.

It is now time for a change.  My life is being consumed with Twitter. I have enjoyed all the wonderful chats that I participate in many since their inceptions and being a part of the wonderful #elemchat team  I have decided to taper off my night chats and still keep my Tuesday day job with #edchat moderation working with my fabulous co-moderators @shellterrell and @rliberni.  I will now devote more time to chatting with my wife.

Since I enjoyed being the guest moderator on #engchat #sschat #gtchat #elemchat #ntchat, #ptchat, I will be honored to do this for any of the chats from time to time.

My Educational Chats page: http://cybraryman.com/chats.html

directions

19 thoughts on “THIS CHATAHOLIC CHANGES DIRECTION

  1. Sadness and relief. Will miss you in chat, but figure it will give you more time to talk to your favorite Pittsburgher! You can’t get rid of me this easily ’cause I am friends with Mrs. B, too, whom I also adore! Best wishes for you and your family and pets. I will be keeping in touch!!!

  2. Thanks friend! All my chatting was really interfering with our social plans.

    We will be in Gettsyburg and Lancaster in early August.

  3. …an era comes to an end! You’re a fire starter in the best possible way, Jerry! You were utterly instrumental in getting #gtchat started, and you have been a consistent and phenomenal resource for so many parents, educators, advocates who are both new and old to the Twitter platform. I’m going to miss your participation immensely, but also am delighted for you. As I welcome people week in and week out, I will likely smile in appreciation for how you’ve inspired and impacted global communities via your creativity, tenacity, and big heart…Fondly – Deborah

    • Thank you for your kind words Deborah. I am thrilled at the global success of #gtchat and will miss conversing weekly with all those wonderful people. I got upset whenever I had to miss a chat. Remember I am still here if you need anything and I am constantly updating my site.

  4. Hi Jerry,

    Although this is sad news to chat newbies like myself, I can totally understand and relate to your decision. Your voice and contributions will definitely be missed during #gtchat and other chats. Please stay in touch!

    @Elle_Gifted

    • I am not disappearing completely. It was getting a little too much with all of the chats that I participated in. I have so much to share and a background that including teaching experiences in most subjects. Thank you for all the great contributions that you are making to the chats.

  5. Glad to hear you are deciding to chat more with your wife. You are, and will continue to be, the person I always check first when I need a reference. I made an initial decision that I would only be active in one chat (the night Edchat) because of the time it takes to be a regular contributor. Never mind trying to facilitate. I hope we can cross paths F2F sometime.

    • Thanks for the kind words and confidence in me. I am the backup moderator for the night EdChat so you will be seeing me occasionally there.

  6. Jerry,
    Just caught your post. I sometimes wondered myself, how you were able to keep up with all these chats, and have time for “real-time” connections. I’m proud of the decision you have made to nurture your marriage and loving relationships. I’m very careful to “unplug” as we say, especially when my husband gets home and on the weekends and not let Twitter or SM consume my life. Enjoy this new change in direction…and know that your are appreciated!

    • Thanks Lisa. I will definitely miss your chat as I am extremely passionate about helping all teachers especially new ones. I will never forget my first school PLN who helped me get started. I always helped new teachers in any of the schools I worked in.

  7. Hi Jerry,
    It saddens me that you will no longer be involved in the chats. You were the one that made me feel comfortable and helped me get my ‘feet wet’. I appreciate all the resources and help you have provided as it has been invaluable.
    It makes me happy to know that you will be doing something else you love with someone you love! You and your wife are truly special people!
    Enjoy! and Thank you!

    • Thanks Nancy. I am not disappearing totally. In fact today I had to help moderate both edchats. If you ever need anything just contact me.

  8. Jerry, I’m happy that you have made this decision for yourself and your family. I know it was a hard one! And thanks for the reflection on changing directions in your career. For me, it’s not so much changing it, but refining my purpose. (and it’s about that time for me!) You have and will continue to be an important presence online! That will just never change!

    • Thanks Elizabeth. I am definitely not disappearing. In fact today I had to help moderate both edchats. I will always be there for you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *