My Twitter Reflections and Resolutions – Happy New Year – 2012

Looking back on my Twitter Timeline I had a very busy year.

It is wonderful to be able to interact with great global educators, parents and students on a daily basis.  I like being able to learn so much from my wonderful PLN (Personal Learning and Sharing Network) and sharing my educational sites with others.

I somehow managed to help moderate #edchat every week. Much thanks to the wonderful #edchat team: @web20classroom @tomwhitby @ShellTerrell @rliberni @mbteach @kylepace
@jswiatek @EdtechSteve.  We had some wonderful discussions this year.  Thank you to all that participated.  I look forward to another wonderful #edchat year.  Please give us your suggestions for topics.

 

I was honored to be the guest moderator on #gtchat, #sschat and #engsschat.  My idea to join chats worked extremely well for #engsschat and #ticsschat.  I strongly feel that the educational hashtags and chats are what really helps connect educators and makes Twitter so valuable in education.  In 2012 I hope to continue to help moderate #edchat and I would like help create more joint chats.  I promised my good friends on #elemchat a joint chat with #sschat

I thoroughly enjoyed meeting many of my great PLN members while I gave opening addresses and/or sessions at TeachMeetGA, EdCampBirmingham, ntcamp, EdCampSpaceCoast, EdCampCitrus and the #sschat session at NCSS.  Getting to know these wonderful people on a personal level is so rewarding.  I can see the advantages of blended learning and realize the value of the face to face contact.  One of my fun adventures occurred one early morning in Washington, DC when I logged on and saw that @ShawnMcCusker was at White House and was headed to the Vietnam Memorial.  I quickly jogged/ran from my hotel to the monuments and was lucky to find Shawn.  We had a wonderful walking tour of the monuments to the Supreme Court and Library of Congress behind the Capitol.  The fact that I am a part of #temt The Twitter Exercise Motivation Team helped me be able to do that great walk with ease.

Unfortunately, I have to cut back on my attending conferences due to financial limitations.  Since I have to pay my own way it does get costly. I am going to fulfill my promise to attend #edcampSS  in Philadelphia and #edcampBoston (gives me a chance to visit my family and friends in Boston and Cape Cod) this year and will try to do more local events near my home.

Skype has enabled me to give my writing presentations in Georgia, Massachusetts, Iowa, Louisiana, and Florida as well as calls to a preservice class in Kansas, an Alabama tech conference, a chat with the organizers of #digcit chat and #edcampSC.  I have also taken part in webinars for Math Future and TeacherCast.

 

In 2012 I will continue my status as a lifelong learner by exploring new tools and providing more links or pages on relevant educational materials.  I do not publish “best” lists because my philosophy is put as many good sites on the same topic on a page and have the reader decide which are best for their purposes.

When not tweeting I have found that I am still pretty good at giving feedings and changing diapers for my newest grandchild.  I still have to master getting her dressed and promise my daughter not to put her top on backwards again and make sure I button her onezie all the time!  I really enjoy all five of my grandchildren, my own children and their spouses, and my wonderful wife and I am extremely proud of all of their accomplishments.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Twitter Reflections and Resolutions – Happy New Year – 2012

    • I look forward to meeting you. The #sschat crew is awesome. I enjoyed meeting them at NCSS in Washington, DC. Happy & Healthy 2012!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *