Accentuate the Positive

 

While reminiscing for my book about my teaching experiences and also in a recent discussion on #satchat (School Administrators chat on Twitter – Saturdays 7:30 am  and 10:30 am EST) I began thinking of ways that I had recognized students’ good work, behavior and achievements.  I was always amazed how my sixth, seventh, eighth and ninth grade students enjoyed seeing their names posted on the walls of my classroom, school library and on certificates.

Early in my teaching career I decided to send home to my students’ parents/guardians some good letters.  I wanted the children complimented on their good work and behavior.  One student went home and said he had a letter from his teacher.  His parent punished him until she found out it was a “good” letter.  No other teacher had ever sent a “good” letter home before!  I quickly learned to tell the students to say it was a “good” letter from their teacher.

When I taught Social Studies I would put on the chalkboard (I am definitely dating myself) an important event that occurred and I also put the name of any student who celebrated a birthday too. My students enjoyed the attention and really felt special to be recognized on their day.  I also listed the birthdays of those students who had weekend or days we were not in school.

Teachers were required by our administration to give homework daily.  To encourage students to do their homework I created a fool-proof system that included the following: At the end of each marking quarter I gave the students who had completed all of their homework on time a certificate, a letter to their parent and their names were placed on a chart that hung in the classroom.  I could not believe how popular being on that chart was for the students.  My 100% Homework Club

When I was asked to take over our school library I decided to post the names of students who had won awards, competitions or made the honor roll for each marking period on the walls of the library.  I did this because after the principal announced their accomplishments over the public address system  that was the end of it.  I wanted other students to see their peers recognized for their deeds.  I was also transforming a once dormant library into the focal point of the school.  I smiled each time a student came into the library and commented on seeing his or her friend’s names on the charts. 

One former student wrote the following to me in a letter: “I think it was really nice of you to put my pictures and a big sign after I became The Heavyweight Champion of the World, in my honor. Even though I never seen it, I want to thank you for doing that.”  Yes, I posted the accomplishments of former graduates too. 

Looking at the pictures of my library I found that I had posted the names of the PTA (Parent Teacher Association) officers as well as the Student Council officers and honors students had garnered for sports and academic achievement.  This included spelling bee champions, Science Fair winners, essay contest winners, etc.

This definitely goes along with my good Twitter friend’s Angela Maiers “#YouMatter” campaign.  It is extremely important that we let each student know that they matter to us. And administrators I am not leaving you off the hook so please let the members of your staff and parents know that they matter too.  My #YouMatter page

“Delete the negative; accentuate the positive!”
Donna Karan

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Accentuate the Positive

  1. Oh Jerry! I love this blog! Reminds me of what I was saying at our BTSN TLCafe webinar to schedule time every month for positive phone calls (or emails) home! My handwriting has suffered due to my long term geekiness – there’s an app for that! LOL Either way, however you communicate with the community being positive is the way to go! #YouMatter!
    ~Gwyneth
    The Daring Librarian.com

  2. I wrote on a chalkboard for 2 years and I’m only 39 so I’ll bet you’re around that too. 😉 Relationships and honouring people come first, thanks for the remider.

  3. Jerry,

    You are extraordinary! Thank you for being a constant source of information and inspiration to educators around the globe.

    Your passion and dedication amazes me!

    YOU MATTER my friend!

    • We all have to work more on #youmatter. We have to let our students, colleagues, administrators, staff members, parents and community know that we care about what they do.

      Angela you are my inspiration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *